Endless Winter

Two years ago spring came early to Southern Ontario, with me posting snowdrops and forsythia buds ready to force indoors in the earliest days of February.  This year, it seems that winter will never end.  The minus double-digit temperatures have been almost constant for the past two months and there is so much accumulated snow heaped up in front of the houses that I am not even prepared to venture outside to take pictures of it for you.  It makes last year’s deep freeze look like child’s play.

Christmas decorating is long gone, Amaryllis blooms have faded.  While we wait for signs of life ouside, we have to content ourselves with making a little indoor spring to pull us through.

indoor spring planter

Spring bulbs are compatible with the remnants of winter decorating.  I kept snow-tipped faux evergreens and berries in this pot, together with variegated annual ivy that I overwintered indoors, and just added budding tulips from the local grocery store.

overwintering plants indoors

My sunroom is overflowing with plants, many of which are overwintering indoors as well, which allows me to sit with my hot tea and kid myself a little about the barren situation outside!

It is, however, a great time to give your indoor plants a little TLC, something that would never happen in my world if spring came early enough to go outdoors.

Did you have an unusually severe winter this year?  Hang in there, spring has to come eventually!

About patinaandcompany

I am a compulsive beautifier of all things habitable. Give me your ugly, non-functional and visually repellent, and I am in my element. Also, an avid and experienced gardener determined to share my horticultural experiences with others. See more at "About"
This entry was posted in Garden Design, Garden Maintenance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Endless Winter

  1. Karl says:

    Enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for noticing and liking my post. I don’t think we’ll have another freeze here in Texas so I’ve learned to get as much in as soon as possible before our brutal 8-9 months of summer sets in and takes the fun out of getting stuff to grow.

  2. lucindalines says:

    Tea does sound real good right now, but mostly I am in love with your sun room.

    • Haha, thank you! We do spend a lot of time in there. The floors are actually heated so that in the cold of winter you can sit in there with the snow falling all around you and just enjoy how pretty it is.

  3. jo11anne says:

    This winter must be one for the record-books. Here in Nova Scotia it’s not so much snow drifts but rather icy surfaces caused by freezing rain on top of snow. Spring can’t arrive too soon!

  4. carmen says:

    I’m in Southern Ontario so I know what you’re talking about!! Seriously, I’ve never seen this much snow in my life!! Love your decor!!

    Stay warm!!
    ♥ carmen

  5. I live in Ottawa, the last I heard this is the coldest winter in twenty years. Luckily we don’t live out west where it’s been the worst in thirty-five years. I’ve also heard that March and April are going to be colder than usual. So much for the good news.

  6. Out here in San Diego we had the driest winter in recorded history. It also ranked as the second warmest winter on record. Doesn’t bother me at all. Year-round dry warmth is one of the reasons why I moved here!

    • Haha, lovely! So opposite our winter this year. Thank god this one is behind us! You are doing a good job of selling California tourism to Torontonians, that’s for sure.

  7. Jim says:

    Today will be in The 50’s in so. Conn but it’s been an endlessly cold snowy winter. Down here the melting snow is finally revealing the grass and garden beds. I had to remove mounds of snow, ice, and compacted leaves to allow emerging daffodils to get some much needed light!

  8. lovemyob says:

    Thanks for liking my post. I hope never to see the winter I had to deal with in Illinois. I just moved to Georgia. 🙂

Leave a comment