Could It Get Any Snowier?

After my last post, reflecting on last year’s early spring and the spectre of global warming, I was certain that winter would be coming to an end.  Yesterday, my dear sister informed me that the annual Flower Count had begun in her fair city, which strives annually in this festival to make the rest of the country jealous.

This morning.  Just north of Toronto.

brrrr

Warning:  you may have the urge to curl up by a roaring fire with tea after viewing the following photos.

winter

So this is what I woke up to this morning.  It looks nothing like George Clooney.

frozen north

snowy scene 4

The view of red-twig dogwood through my bay window:

dogwood

front yard

winter wonderland 7

Wiarton Willie?  Excuse me?  You were saying? #stupidgroundhog

About patinaandcompany

I am a compulsive beautifier of all things habitable. Give me your ugly, non-functional and visually repellent, and I am in my element. Also, an avid and experienced gardener determined to share my horticultural experiences with others. See more at "About"
This entry was posted in Garden Design, Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Could It Get Any Snowier?

  1. janebalshaw says:

    I hear you! Here in New Hampshire, USA my yard looks the same EXCEPT you can only see the top 1/3 of my chairs and it is piled 5′ high at my back door!! MY sister in California is boasting of all her blooming hyacinths! Shame on them for making us feel so bad….
    Jane

  2. Hey, that looks familiar! We have predictions of more snow too. I love your landscape with all the snow laden trees. Gorgeous.

  3. This is a ravishing fairyland, and I expect it’s as silent as night too… how utterly beautiful… we , by contrast are struggling with the worst drought on record here in NZ…
    I envy you the snow….

    • I wish my words were as poetic as yours! Maybe if I were living in New Zealand I would look at it like that! I was unaware you had record drought down there. And yes, the snow does absorb sound and make it really quiet. Kind of lovely.

  4. snow pictures make such a wonderful blog entry

  5. Oh my gosh! It is cold here yet but I am not going to complain!!! Wow. Yes it looks great to snuggle up by the fireplace if it was December but not now! I love the photos as they are beautiful…just not now right:)

    • Ha–exactly: “beautiful . . . just not now”! I try to be a good Ontario girl and embrace the winter like other people who ski, ice fish and snowmobile, but it hasn’t happened yet. Thanks for the visit.

  6. My dear friend, I have nominated you The Sunshine Award! Congratulations! Please visit this link:transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/the-sunshine-award/

  7. Boomdeeadda says:

    Oh wow, winter smackdown. Dang. Can you really imagine waking up to George Clooney? HA that made me laugh. With the sun warming up now, maybe it’ll melt quickly…stay warm. Loved all the photo’s, makes it look so magical but I feel your pain.

    • It may be warming up around Edmonton, but our latest forecast is for colder, so it won’t be melting in the next few days. This is the thing about living here: the stuff just freezes in the yard and sits there indefinitely!

  8. Christina says:

    It looks so cold and so dark! I can’t imagine what it is like to live with that much snow every year. Last year we had a lot for here, but nothing like these images. Curl up indeed. Christina

    • It is snowier than usual in these photos. The tough part for me is that it remains so cold here that the snow does not melt off. I grew up in a valley on Vancouver Island (rain forest country) where we could receive more snow than this in one snowfall easily, but then it would melt off in a few days and warm up, which somehow is easier to contend with.

  9. Oh but it looks so beautiful! I adore a snowy scene! Enjoy the snow ~ curl up and write to your heart’s content! xo

  10. I do love the snow — especially now that I am retired and don’t have to drive in it! Great photos!!

  11. Holleygarden says:

    haha – stupidgroundhog! 🙂 Here, I thought he might be right! I can’t imagine being there under all that snow! But it’s so very pretty. And it’s supposed to be good for the garden, too!

    • You are absolutely right that it is good for the garden; especially here where it can get so cold and any such insulation and moisture helps. However I must say that this heavy, wet, soaking stuff is fairly hard on branches and can do damage to trees that aren’t used to it.

  12. That is beautiful… but maybe a BIT much. You’d never know it was March 1st!! We’re getting snowdrops here, and the daffodils are coming up.
    I love your patio set… very cute!

    • Last year we had those things! In fact, a few weeks ago snowdrop buds were showing, poor babies. A bit much for sure! I think of it as a very long, extended garden PLANNING season.

  13. Your photos are amazing and yes i put the kettle on to make some herbal tea. I grew up in Minnesota so I love the photos. It brings back a lot of special memories and images. I now live between the mountains and the ocean and I move back and forth to enjoy the snow and the early spring. Again, your photos are amazing.

    • Oh, you are in the best spot in America now–I grew up on Vancouver Island in fact. There is no more beautiful place than the West Coast and that area in particular–you are so lucky. Thanks for the lovely feedback and I enjoyed checking out your site. Lots more sunshine on there.

  14. lucindalines says:

    Such beautiful photos. It does make me want to curl up by a fire with something warm to drink. We have snow predicted for North Dakota late Sunday or early Monday. We will see what comes.

    • Thank you. Best wishes with your snowfall–and I hope spring isn’t too far away. I look back at my posts from last February and March and it was so different from this year!

  15. Congratulations! I nominated you for “Blog Of The Year 2012” Award. Follow my link and it will fill you in on the rules and details. Congrats and Enjoy!
    http://hotrodcowgirl.com/2013/03/02/blog-of-the-year-2012-award-times-six/

  16. jo11anne says:

    Thanks for liking our blog. Your blog is great and we’ll be following it. Although we had some big snowfalls this winter we’re now into the slush season so we changed our header today – seasonal view and all that.

    • Thanks for your feedback and follow. For some reason I’m having a hard time getting back to your site to look! I had to “request access”. . . . ? Pretty sure I didn’t do that last time.

      • jo11anne says:

        The problem is that I have a second blog (private – really for experimenting) and wordpress must have pointed you in that direction instead of to the one you reached earlier, which is chestergardenclub. Sorry for the confusion.

      • Oh I see it now! It doesn’t seem to be linked to your gravatar. But it will come up in my reader, so that works. I just LOVE your header with all the shrubs sprawling over the casual stone wall in the wintery garden.

  17. Pingback: Planter Evolution | patinaandcompany

  18. shiroknowes says:

    Beautiful snow paradise, photo nr. 3 is gorgeous !

  19. lol I was going to say…where do you live but I live in Toronto, too! I guess if you are just North of the city, it would mean you get more snow. Ugh I hope today is our last day of this yucky stuff!

  20. I love the photo out of the window! Beautiful!

  21. Pingback: Is it Spring Yet? | patinaandcompany

  22. Sartenada says:

    You just proved that winter can be beautiful also. Great photos.

  23. Pingback: Endless Winter | patinaandcompany

Leave a Reply

