Planter Evolution

It’s nearly time for hydrangeas and Easter bunnies to clutter my foyer, but first, one more change to my large indoor planter.

I took out the spent bulbs from the arrangement in my recent post, as well as the faux snowy evergreen boughs.  In spite of the lingering winter situation in my garden, I am making this next arrangement more spring-like by replacing them with a division of an over-wintered tender fern that I grew through the winter months.

foyer planter and bunny

Fresh blue hyacinths accent the blue foyer colour, and yellow tulips invoke Spring and are the ideal colour complement.

planter close-up

Unfortunately, I have been unable to get out and pick up some interesting pussy-willows, which would dramatically improve this arrangement, so I am still working around the red-twig dogwood from last fall.  If you are doing this for your own home, pussy-willows will be lovely and should take you through Easter.

Be sure to add either Spanish Moss or some other bagged moss to cover up the soil for a really finished look.  These are available in garden centres and craft stores.

spanish moss

Tip:  Prolong the beauty of indoor arrangements by turning down the thermostat in the area where they will sit, if possible.

indoor planter bunny

How do you decorate for Spring and Easter?  Do you have tips to share?

About patinaandcompany

I am a compulsive beautifier of all things habitable. Give me your ugly, non-functional and visually repellent, and I am in my element. Also, an avid and experienced gardener determined to share my horticultural experiences with others. See more at "About"
This entry was posted in Decor and Design, Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Planter Evolution

  1. Gorgeous! Your pictures put me in a spring-like mood!!

  2. gracefully50 says:

    So pretty! Thanks for brightening my dreary rainy evening!

  3. Boomdeeadda says:

    I’d love to have a foyer, omgosh it’s gorgeous. Your urn is perfect for spring. I bet it smells heavenly in there. I spotted some pussy willow out my bedroom window 2 days ago. Unfortunately it’s on the 2nd floor. I might go snoop thru the river valley this week though.

    • Thank you! It does smell heavenly, you’re right. The hyacinths really have a scent that drifts around the house, but I dream all year of when I can bring in lilacs and peonies because that is the height of wonderful scents!

      Lucky you for having a place to just go cut your own pussy willow.

  4. How beautiful to bring spring inside your home! I love your planter. I haven’t ventured to make spring arrangements … yet! Lovely to see yours.

  5. shiroknowes says:

    I decorate with branches of the peach three and I hang than decorated eggs of plaster on these ….they are very lovely to see !

  6. Really looks like Spring is moving in. I like your planter, colorful and perfect for the season.

  7. What a gorgeous arrangement…I really love the character and detail of the pot you used.

  8. P.E.A.C.E. says:

    I love this! Thank you for sharing. There is something so special about decorating for Easter, and spring. I love my easter egg wreath and keep it on the door for about a month around Easter. This grapevine wreath has abundant speckled, pastel-coloured eggs attached and I love it. Also I have a tiny basket of blown eggs I made and stained with blueberries years ago and they are gorgeous in a bed of moss. Thanks again for sharing another one of your wildly inspirational posts. Cheers, Gina

    • Your wreath and blueberry eggs in moss sound absolutely exquisite. Did you post photos (not sure where to look on your blog). I am contemplating pursuing a vision of blown and coloured eggs that popped into my head while my eyes were closed yesterday, using gold leaf. However, preparing for Easter dinners and visitors always gets the best of my time, so I probably won’t.

      Glad you enjoyed the planters.

  9. Those plants are beautiful

  10. Sylvie says:

    Please check it out Leslie(?) and choose the one you like! 😉
    http://sylviesfashionsecrets.com/2013/04/14/wow-lots-of-awards/

Leave a Reply

