Holiday Lanterns

I have nothing to do at this time of year, and I know you don’t either.

decorated lantern

Just kidding, but being really busy never stops me from thinking up more unnecessary but creative things to do. This is a fun perk for your outdoor decorating that just takes a couple of minutes to put together.

I have five black, traditional outdoor lanterns.  This small decoration on each one spreads the greenery around the exterior so that it is not concentrated solely around the front door.  You might use it on greeting areas such as the exterior of your garage where guests may park, or on a patio that could be used or viewed even in winter.

I made these from the smaller pieces of B.C. cedar and pine left over from my indoor and outdoor planters.

You need:             ribbon or bows

clippers

cedar  cuttings

small pieces of pine

real or faux berries (keep your berries and bows in either the orange-red or burgundy-red spectrum, but make sure they are similar)

craft wire or floral wire

To make:  Simply lay one or two pieces of cedar with a shorter piece of pine over top.  Add a sprig of real or faux berries, aligning  all stems together at the top.  Add a much smaller piece of cedar pointing upward to cover the tops of the stems from the first three items.

Real berries

Real berries

Either make your own bows, or buy small pre-made bows at stores like Fabricland, Michaels or nurseries.   Slip floral wire or craft wire through the back of the bow, using a piece that will be long enough to twist onto the top of the lantern.  Place the bow near the top of the greenery where the stems overlap and tie everything together with the wire.

That’s it!

You could also do this on a lamp post.  I ran out of the right size of cedar pieces before I ran out of lanterns, so I clipped a couple of overgrown tips off my Weeping Nootka False Cypress to finish.  These look almost identical to the B.C. Cedar, in case this should ever occur and you do not want to drive back to the nursery.

I’ll add pictures of the assembly process to this post when my assistant (i.e., technologically proficient teenager) is, ahem, available, so check back if this will be of any help.  Christmas decorating can’t wait forever . . . .

Is your decorating done?  Or will you still be doing it when Santa’s sleigh is heading for your house?

About patinaandcompany

I am a compulsive beautifier of all things habitable. Give me your ugly, non-functional and visually repellent, and I am in my element. Also, an avid and experienced gardener determined to share my horticultural experiences with others. See more at "About"
This entry was posted in Decor and Design, Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Holiday Lanterns

  1. Boomdeeadda says:

    Decorating is far from done, getting back home tomorrow though. Your festive lanterns look very traditional, I can picture caroller’s on your door step.

  2. Oh boy can I relate to “not having anything to do”! Just like you, though, I find peace & joy in creating. I love the easy accents you’ve created. Lovely! Dana

  3. Like you, I am just sitting around… doing nothing.
    Lanterns look great!

  4. Bernice says:

    I love the touches to your beautiful lanterns! Thanks for the suggestions – maybe I will do something like this next year.

Leave a Reply

