Arranging Autumn Indoors

Everyone who reads my blog knows I love autumn.  However, it is one of those seasons like late winter or early spring when there are certain days you have to enjoy it from inside the house.

So, in time for (Canadian) Thanksgiving guests, I decided to do exactly that, by clipping what I love from outdoors to warm up my foyer for autumn.

Fall Colours

My home is in the country, so I like to emphasize this fact in choosing what to cut for indoors.  This is an especially good idea if you happen to have your country house on the market, as one of the attractions a buyer may have to your house is the air of a country lifestyle, and this type of arrangement will emphasize this feature of your home.

I made this arrangement in a plain-Jane glass vase which had no character whatsoever, and sunk it into the large, rustic planter I keep in my foyer.  In keeping with my “bringing in autumn” theme, I clipped the things outside that are beautiful now, avoiding the prim look of an ordinary bouquet and instead staying in character with autumn’s untidy glory.

Tips for this type of bouquet:

1.     What looks great together outside will look great together in your bouquet.

2.     Stick to a general, but not fastidious, colour scheme.  I stuck to darker reds and burgundies, accented with purply Russian Sage.  You could go with a lighter scheme–for example, white roses, pinky-cream hydrangea, paler versions of Sedum and so on.

3.     Hide the gap between the vase and planter, if necessary, with something trailing or droopy like the Engleman Ivy in my arrangement above.

Engleman Ivy turning red on the house

4.     My foyer has a cool look, so I like to warm it up in fall and winter by picking up the deeper red tones from the dining room, beyond.

Burning bush in the garden, at its peak

5.     Don’t limit yourself to the usual flowers–you can use burning bush, its berries (which I have used in this bouquet), birch branches, maple branches or any other branches with changing leaves (the tall ones in back of my arrangement).

6.     Combine plants with different shapes, textures, and heights.  I used tree and shrub branches as a backdrop, branches with small, round berries, spiky Russian Sage, buttercup-shaped, nodding Japanese Anemone, and the horizontal, flat-topped froth of Sedum, Autumn Joy.  As always, it is the contrast in textures and shapes that give tension and life to plant combinations whether indoors or out.

7.     Let things sprawl a bit instead of keeping them in a neat and tidy form.

8.     An antiqued, distressed-looking container with some patina looks good with autumn’s warm and weary beauty.

This tree inspired my arrangement; its branches are at back in the container

9.    What I used:  A small maple-type branch turning red on the property; Burning Bush berries only, no leaves; Perovskia  Russian Sage;  Sedum, “Autumn Joy” and Engleman Ivy–the long, dangling pieces hanging off the wall.

10.     Edit:  don’t use everything in the garden.  I had a hard time stopping myself, but any more variety would have undermined the impact of the combination I had.  If there’s more out there, you can always make another bouquet with a different combination.

11.   Other things in season that would be beautiful:  Pink Diamond Hydrangea (LOVE!!!), Burning Bush, Viburnum berries, other types of

Ornamental cabbage could be the centrepiece of an indoor arrangement

Sedums, Heuchera leaves (in a smaller container), Japanese Maple, Rudbeckia, Black-Eyed Susan, roses, rose hips, ornamental cabbage and Artemisia, “Silver King”.

What do you love to clip and bring indoors from your garden?

Your feedback is what makes this blog interesting, so please leave your comments below.  Happy Thanksgiving.

About patinaandcompany

I am a compulsive beautifier of all things habitable. Give me your ugly, non-functional and visually repellent, and I am in my element. Also, an avid and experienced gardener determined to share my horticultural experiences with others. See more at "About"
This entry was posted in Decor and Design, Living and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Arranging Autumn Indoors

  1. Your bouquet is gorgeous, wow ! Very beautiful !

  2. Frankie says:

    I love the way your bouquet turned out. I love the lavender in it, it makes a great addition. I bet it makes it smell lovely too! In Wisconsin, I haven’t been able to bring anything outside in, but when I was living at home we had beautiful hydrangea bushes, from which I cut bouquets pretty often!

    • Hi Frankie, thanks for you feedback–that’s actually Russian Sage in it, which is bigger and more of a late summer/fall plant than lavender and has a different, sagey scent. I totally agree with you on the hydrangeas; nothing beats them for cutting!

  3. Grace says:

    Oh my! That is such a lovely bouquet. Thanks for the tips!

  4. Pingback: Arranging Autumn Indoors « Donkey Whisperer Farm Blog

  5. I re-blogged on my blog. Great post love all your tips, keep up the great work.

  6. I love your arrangements….the colors are gorgeous! Love your landscaping too….I need to print this blog out and save it for next spring as I have lots of landscaping to do and I know I want tres, bushes with colorful autumn leaves and then figuring out what type of perennials for flowers. Thank you for sharing your beautiful yard and your gifted arrangements:)

  7. Granny says:

    Thank you for visiting Granny’s Parlour! I landed here just in time. Thanksgiving is approaching for us, and this is perfect inspiration. I especially appreciate the fact that you take into consideration the practical use of decor to assist in the sale of a property. This broadens the reach of your topic and opens up the mind to consider many possibilities. Great, creative approach. Browsing around your blog is very enjoyable also. Thanks again.

  8. Pingback: Weekend Highlights – Noteworthy Articles by Fellow Bloggers – November 10, 2012 « Granny's Parlour

  9. Pingback: Arranging Autumn Indoors « The Home Vegetable Gardener Blog

  10. Katie Glenn says:

    Here in Florida the Brazilian Pepper tree is considered an invasive shrub … but come Fall it has the prettiest orange/red berries and it lasts forever after it’s been cut. I just can’t help it – I like this plant!

    • I googled Brazilian Pepper tree and, wow, no wonder you think it’s gorgeous! Well, I guess you can consider yourself helpful if you cut its berries for indoors and stop them from going to seed and turning into more invasive shrubs. You may as well enjoy it as long as it’s there.

  11. Wow, that last bouquet is gorgeous. Great tips!

  12. Pingback: Dramatic Indoor Holiday Arrangement | patinaandcompany

  13. Pingback: Dramatic Indoor Holiday Arrangement | patinaandcompany

Leave a Reply

