Some Sobering Numbers

I usually blog about gardening, but today I’m getting a little off topic because there are some things I can’t ignore.  I want to share someone else’s very important article with you.

I guess, as gardeners, we notice things like how early spring comes now compared to a few years ago, how few of the corn kernels we plant survive the odd weather and come up, how much more frequently than usual we have to water our gardens and lawns to keep them in decent shape, and so on.

I’m noticing how much more I’ve had to resort to air conditioning this year than ever before, and how many fewer days have been cool enough to even enjoy gardening this year.  Maybe we are just a little more in touch with Mother Nature than we might otherwise be, and maybe that makes us just a little more concerned.

In any event, gardeners on Twitter were passing around this article, “Global Warming’s Terrifying New Math“, from a recent Rolling Stone magazine, which I hope you will take the time to read and pass on.  It is one of the best articles I’ve seen in ages a far as setting out some numbers and information that we should–must–all think about.

There is not just one way to solve global warming; many different approaches need to be used.  I sincerely hope that more of us begin to accept the reality of these statistics and facts and are moved to do something.  Some of the dates in this article are not that far away.

I try to keep it upbeat on this site, so I regret the dire tone of this post; however, some things just have to be shared.  Climate change is occurring too quickly.  I want to be gardening for a long time to come.

About patinaandcompany

I am a compulsive beautifier of all things habitable. Give me your ugly, non-functional and visually repellent, and I am in my element. Also, an avid and experienced gardener determined to share my horticultural experiences with others. See more at "About"
This entry was posted in Things that Matter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Sobering Numbers

  1. You are right. In New Zealand, it’s the middle of winter right now and yet we’re getting onion weed cropping up in our backyard already. It’s only August? Last year I wrote about onion weed on my blog in September, in 2010 I wrote about it in October. August is way too early for onion weed.

Leave a Reply

