July Garden

Last week was that difficult week in the summer garden when all the dramatic late-spring/early summer blooms have quit, leaving you to enjoy texture and foliage colour.  However, this week new things are budding out, so, while I wait for my helpers to put up some “before-and-afters” in my “Gallery” of recent garden designs, I will share some news from around my own garden.

For one thing, my Black Walnut garden has evolved:

Black Walnut garden at left, July 2012

Texture and foliage under the Black Walnut

White Lilies thrive under the Black Walnut trees

Hosta “Big Mama” is more like Hosta “Little, Frantically-Reproducing Mama” under the Black Walnut trees, where she is a tiny fraction of her size elsewhere (if you can see the small hostas in the two previous pictures), and spreads tiny offspring everywhere.  On the other hand, “Big Mama” does not even look like the same variety when grown in a location she likes, and does not produce randomly scattered offspring:

Hosta “Big Mama” with H. Undulata “Variegata” and Russian Sage

I am loving blue and gold combinations right now, although it isn’t my primary colour scheme:

Golden Sweet Potato Vine and Lobelia “Regatta” are a favourite combo in summer planters

Daylily “Happy Returns” complements various recently-added Delphiniums

“Happy Returns” with Scabiosa “Butterfly Blue”, Pincushion Flower, and Veronica Speedwell “Sunny Border Blue”

Texture and foliage colour provide constant interest and are especially appreciated when the garden is in between blossoms:

Evergreens, Japanese Maple and Heuchera “Palace Purple”

Texture and foliage colour in the front perennial bed

The garden framing the front view from the road:

I am lucky to have mature trees to make everything look relaxed and “settled”.

A garden path view:

Below, a newly-revised section of the garden that has a more structured flavour than my usual style.  Pee Gee Hydrangeas and what is hopefully a seedling of “Fat Albert” Blue Spruce have been planted behind boxwood to provide some screening from the lot next door, which has heretofore been vacant but will not be for much longer.

. . . and here are some of the individual stars of the July performance:

Echinacea Purpurea with purplish Sedum

Sweet-scented Summer Phlox

. . . this classic Daylily I’ve had as long as I can remember would look great beside a traditional brick home, with its coral overtones

Last, but definitely not least, hundreds of these white Lilies have just burst into bloom

That’s a quick overview of my garden this week.  Please check back and have a look at my Gallery as it gets updated with recent, new gardens I have designed for other properties.

About patinaandcompany

I am a compulsive beautifier of all things habitable. Give me your ugly, non-functional and visually repellent, and I am in my element. Also, an avid and experienced gardener determined to share my horticultural experiences with others. See more at "About"
This entry was posted in Garden Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to July Garden

  1. Donna says:

    Your garden looks just lovely! I need to add some daylilies to my garden.

  2. So perfect and beautiful! I’m embarrassed to have posted pictures of my scraggly little cottage garden… 🙂

  3. Grace says:

    I love those flowers! I wish I had your talent.

    • Thanks Grace–I didn’t have my talent when I was a young mom–just a great big need for greenery and gardens. It takes a long time to learn about gardening because there really is a lot to know. Just try whenever you have time. I always appreciate your comments.

  4. I would be happy to sit with you in your garden……………..

  5. claire says:

    whatt do you grow in your black walnut garden

    • Hello Claire, sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you. I have an article on my blog, actually, that answers that question very completely: https://patinaandcompany.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/gardening-under-a-black-walnut-tree/ I find a lot of articles listing plants that will supposedly grow under black walnuts but many of the plants in the lists actually struggle or die under a large black walnut and would certainly not thrive. I have experimented on my own and the ones in the article have stood the test of time under an extremely large, messy group of walnuts with very little to no special effort. Good luck if you have one to contend with!

Leave a Reply

